Eden Brent soars on “Ain’t Got No Troubles”

2020 TBBF 728×90

Eden Brent is the “blues diva” boogie piano master who’s been all over the blues scene for the past few years. Last year, Eden won the Pinetop Perkins Piano Award from the Blues Foundation, and one listen to her latest album “Ain’t Got No Troubles” will quickly show any listener exactly why.

Eden employs the albums’ twelve tracks to grandstand the breadth of her talents. The styles artfully swing from the barrelhouse blues on “Someone to love” to a reminiscence of Dixieland on the title track “Ain’t got No Troubles”, all with an overflowing of emotional soul. “Leave Me Alone” is simply outstanding blues. The Gospel-infused “Beyond My Broken Dreams”, as well as the sweet final track “Goodnight Moon” show that Eden’s blues run much deeper than just the Boogie-Woogie that she’s so well known known for.
Eden made the trip down to New Orleans to cut this latest album, and the location seems to shine through the tracks. The unmistakable, underlying New Orleans feel from NOLA legend John Cleary on the Hammond organ, as well as the brass section and Eden’s boogie piano prowess throughout the album, artfully ties it together. Colin Linden, who also served as producer, plays crisp, skillfully timed slide guitar to compliment Eden’s wonderfully unique, earthen vocals. Finally, the inclusion of the drums aides in keeping the boogie piano modern and contemporary, laying firmly to rest any concerns about whether or not Boogie-Woogie has seen it’s heyday. Blues fans of all discretions should enjoy this album, and it should undeniably have a loving home with any boogie piano and New Orleans piano fans.

Track Listing
01. Someone To Love
02. Ain’t Got No Troubles
03. Blues All Over
04. Later Than You Think
05. Right To Be Wrong
06. Leave Me Alone
07. Let’s Boogie-Woogie
08. My Man
09. Beyond My Broken Dreams
10. If I Can’t
11. In Love With Your Wallet
12. Goodnight Moon