Kim Wilson Gets Back To Basics

"I'm dedicating this CD to my big brother, James Cotton," Wilson says. "He has always been a great inspiration and a dear friend.

Kim Wilson Blues & Boogie Vol. 1 Album CoverEminent singer/harmonica master Kim Wilson has gone back to the basics, and old school Chicago blues for his new CD, Blues and Boogie, Vol. 1. The new release is coming October 20th from Severn Records. Wilson produced Blues and Boogie, Vol. 1 with most tracks recorded and mixed by Nathan James at Sacred Cat Studios, Oceanside, California.  Tracks 4 and 15 were recorded by Big Jon at Big Tone Recording Studios, Hayward, California.

“I want to tell all of the real blues fans out there what a labor of love this project has been,” Wilson writes in the album’s liner notes. “I’ve been recording many, many tracks for a couple of years now and time has just flown by! A couple of the greatest musicians that ever lived, Richard Innes, and Barrelhouse Chuck, have passed away during the process of making this CD. One of their dreams was to see this stuff come out.

“So here it is, the first of many to come. This kind of music is very easy and pleasurable for me to perform. I like to surround myself with musicians who like to ‘fly by the seat of their pants.’ People like Richard and Barrel, Billy Flynn, Big Jon Atkinson, Marty Dodson, Nathan James, Larry Taylor, Malachi Johnson and all of the other fantastic blues musicians who are on this CD. I desired to record songs that I have always wanted to do. However, I have to put my own twist on everything.”

The track list includes several Wilson originals that fit hand-in-glove with the deep blues songbook he delved into for the new disc. These include tunes by Little Walter, Sonny Boy Williamson, Elmore James, John Lee Hooker, Jimmy Rogers, Magic Sam and Jimmy Reed.

A founding member of the Fabulous Thunderbirds, and a multiple Blues Music Award winner as a solo artist, Wilson salutes many of his Chicago blues roots influences – in particular his harmonica mentors such as Little Walter, Sonny Boy Williamson, and especially James Cotton on Blues and Boogie, Vol. 1. It’s music that is both timely and timeless.

“I’m dedicating this CD to my big brother, James Cotton,” Wilson says. “He has always been a great inspiration and a dear friend. When I was a kid, having a great time with all of the masters of this music, I never dreamt I would be living in a world without them. Every time I open my mouth to sing, or pick up my instrument to play, I am doing it for them! There are hundreds of tracks in the can and still recording, and I really believe that this period of time is the beginning of my legacy. I could never have done it without my family of masters who invented this music and the musicians who are on this CD. I hope you enjoy listening to it as much as I enjoyed making it!”

Kim Wilson, Blues and Boogie, Vol. 1 Track Listing
1. Bonus Boogie
2. No Love in My Heart
3. Ninety Nine
4. Worried Life Blues
5. You Upset My Mind
6. Teenage Beat
7. Same Old Blues
8. Searched All Over
9. From the Bottom
10. Look Whatcha Done
11. Blue and Lonesome
12. Sho Nuf I Do
13. Learn to Treat Me Right
14. Edgier
15. Mean Old Frisco
16. You’re the One


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin

Get On
The List!